My Cebu Photo Blog

Get Intimate with the Queen City Of the South

The “Family” Park


I woke up around noon today and mom told me that it was a good day to roam around Cebu and take some photos. Yeah, indeed it was. The sun was bright, the traffic was light and everyone’s having their siesta.

Wait. Did you just say siesta? Now, who am I, someone who hasn’t got eight hours of sleep each night for the past two weeks, to turn my back on a siesta? LOL. So yeah. The plan was shelved when after lunch, I got hold of the pillow in the sala and just walked right into dreamland. LOL

I woke up around five in the afternoon. The sun was already setting when the urge came to me (us). So, we headed North trekking Banilad Road. “Where are we going?” I asked. And the gods of the cosmos assembled and showed us the sign to The FAMILY PARK.  Hahaha.

————–

To the park space

So, what exactly is D’ Family Park?

(from the MCWD website)

D’ Family Park

The first park of its kind in Cebu. D’ Family Park is within MCWD’s 20-hectare property in Talamban. It offers an alternative and wholesome recreation site within the city while promoting the protection and regeneration of flora and fauna.

One can find swimming pools- for kids and for adults, a picnic camp site, a vast children’s playground with play things like swings, see-saws, slides, tykes playstations, etc., a wildlife sanctuary, a mini-zoo and botanical research garden with a nursery, a multi-function club house and pavilion designed to suit one’s needs for any social activities.

From the gate of MCWD, along the side of concrete road is a jogger’s path. The park has a large stage, equipped with an up-to-date sound system. Fronting the stage is a huge open field/ground big enough to hold ball games, etc. At its side are kiosks structured for those who just want to enjoy the serenity of the greeneries.

This 20-hectare area is nature-friendly. Trees surround the whole complex-a product of a reforestation effort in 1983. Lying nearby is a one-hectare lagoon which serves as a re-charge area for MCWD’s Talamban well-fields. Park goers are provided ample parking spaces.

D’ Family Park was conceived in 1993 by former MCWD General Manager, Fr. Francisco G. Silva. Its construction started in 1996 with its initial funding coming from former Congressman Raul del Mar. Finally, the facility was opened to public in May 8, 1999. D’ Family Park is operated and maintained by MCWD.

Trees everywhere. hehe. You can ‘camp’ here if you want. If you like, you can get that mat and have a picnic beneath the trees. Really cool.

The ASEAN Friendship Garden

 

The Lake is like the main attraction of the park. No one leaves the park without a visit to the lake. I hope they get swan boats soon.

Another shot. The last time I was here, there were some lilies on the water.

Mga isda!!! And yes, they eat Skyflakes. hahah

The Friendship Mark

All-bamboo. I don’t know what this really means. But I suppose it’s like, “We bend together to the tests of time”. I guess. hahaha.

 

To the woods. This spot pretty cool during the early afternoon.

The kiddie pools. Wet and Wild, literally. LOL

Just before sunset. Ah. Nice view.

To the field/playground/zoo/stage.

The HUGE roofed stage. Even an entire company as big as PLDT can perform on this stage. At the same time. hahaha.

View of the field. From the stage. If the field is not reserved for some soccer or baseball games, the space is free-for-all game zone!

Tents at Php150 only

Osman enjoying the See-Saw

Slides!

The mini-zoo

These two opted to drink from the faucet and not the container. Hahaha.

Monkey thoughts.

I was kinda worried why this monkey was actually outside the cage. LOL

The talking Myna kept repeating “Kinsa’y Ngan Nimo”? (What’s your name?) Everyone was so amazed including this young cute kid – daugther of an American guy and a Cebuana who were also checking the zoo out when we went there. The kid said, “It can talk!”. But the Dad said, “Don’t be fooled, baby. It’s recorded.”

I was like, “Huh? WTF?” LOL.

Cute rabbits can dig. hehe

Many rabbits. I didn’t know they smell.

I know. I can’t see a thing myself. But rest assured, those two shiny things – those are his eyes. Such a cute creature.

I’m not sure what the name of this bird is. But they’re really astig and they’re super seryoso. haha. In my second life, I wanna be this kind of bird.

This is my first real encounter with a deer. They’re really creepy in the dark. I think I wouldn’t want to be upclose and personal with Rudolf.

Clean baths!

For Rent. Here are the rates!

 More Photos:

- Mountain/More trees

- Another palm tree. hehehe / Bamboo

 

- Let’s play / The lake

- Monkeys / Deers

 

Visit the D’ Family Park. Entrance fee is only Php 10 for kids and Php 15 for adults.

30 responses to “The “Family” Park

  1. INDAY MYRNA March 27, 2007 at 10:30 am

    its beautiful… maybe the same park when my sister have their family fun day (work). lots of lovely places in cebu i never explore yet. hopefully one day, cheers

  2. junanteola March 31, 2007 at 4:20 am

    for a while, i thought the track shown on the home page was that leading to the USC Talamban campus. a friend toured me there once and construction was then unfinished.

  3. ianne March 31, 2007 at 11:13 am

    A recreational area in one? Perfect! Just like in Canada, eh!

  4. raphy of NYS July 30, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    i used to go to this place with then girlfriend, who is now my wife. nice place, simple, clean and very “nature feel” environment. we used to got there after office, have a simple ba-on of puso n bbq, bought at the eskina of the main road. stayed until sunset. ahhhhh…. those were the days… we have a lot of fond memories there, like one time, naab-tan mi ug kusog na uwan, and its getting dark, very romantic! will surely visit the place inig balik namo diha sa cebu. didnt get the chance to swim sa swimming pool though.

  5. leylander July 31, 2007 at 8:36 am

    wow. romantic gyud diay. puso ug bbq in the rain. nyahahaha.

    lingaw kaayo didto from 3 to five kay daghan kaayo families. kay family park gud. hahaha. ang mga kida kay murag lipay gyud kaayo didto. =) apil na si satchmo. haha

  6. doms September 30, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    can i also do fishing in the lake? just inform me here…

  7. doms September 30, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    my 1st visit der wen in my high school days, we hangout some of classmate, friends & also my X…hahaha

    sometime we used to do practice ground as a former member of a dance group in our school in 1997 until we graduate…

    we do visit sometimes the park in my college day together w/ my best friend chill in the pool together doing our swimming lesson…

    this park is good example to all man kinds…

    keep it up & improve more to our next generations!

  8. Shin October 24, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    how can we go there ahmm our are is from Lapu-Lapu City we really don’t know what kind of transportation we’re going to use

  9. Psyche December 7, 2009 at 10:22 am

    hello, all. do you have D’Family Park’s contract number?

  10. reymond December 12, 2009 at 11:08 am

    please send me the contact number…
    thnks… hehehehe

  11. sarah January 3, 2010 at 11:29 am

    may I know their contact number please..?needs the reply asap.

    thanks much!

  12. Steven January 29, 2010 at 1:14 am

    nice pics! … I went to family park just last week.. The next day, I also found this other park like place in liloan. It’s more on sea and fish. There are a few pics as well…

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cebu-Philippines/dPond-Cebu-Fishing/191231827702

  13. mesmerize November 21, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    oh… i want to visit this place…
    i dunno how to get there i dunno anybody there
    can anybody care to tell me how ca i get there?
    please beep me or give a ring 09159655681

  14. Maria Anabel Pijo April 5, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    Indeed – nice place to unwind & have fun with family, friends & even with office mates!
    I am wondering Leylander??? you seems familiar to me? it rings a bell to me (not because i am Anabel jejejeje) is that you Leylan Romarate? :) LOL

  15. evangeline May 6, 2011 at 12:07 pm

    Yap..its very recommendable for the whole family esp. to the kids…For fun, educational and learning to value the mother nature….How i wish all the local government officials will initiate in this kind of recreational place for those family who can’t afford to visit in a commercial recreational place….KUDOS TO THE FOUNDER….

  16. jkar gadgets May 14, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    Wow…gusto ko muanha dha ug magpicture/photoshoot. Nice location..

  17. loi May 17, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    family park was my home during my stay in the city of cebu for more than 5 years. the witness on my happiness and my prostation there is no place like the family park and if given chance again i would love to come and even settle in the city of cebu co’z only there where i can find and go to that park……………..

  18. Jade May 21, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    nindot kau diri perfect for a date ky mingaw xad..

  19. Raya September 12, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    my 2 kids who will be celebrating their birthday’s in October and November respectively will be having their party there…

  20. Lisa September 20, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    pila diay entrance fee ani?

  21. Marney Lepiten Millin January 2, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    ohhhhhhhhhhh love the place this one of the place in my town that i miss and its only 10mins ride from my place

  22. Lyster Ramos February 15, 2012 at 11:19 am

    These are nice photos and your blogs too. Thanks for sharing. I’m trying to convince my sister to have her garden wedding there.

  23. GINA July 13, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    hi.. naa koy binuhi nga sawa upat na cya ka tuig sa amo-a gusto namo amo e donate dra sa inyo mosugot bah mo aria lang ninyo dri sa guadalupe SITIO TUGASAN GUADALUPE CEBU MY NUMBER 09239453096
    PANGITAA LANG C MARIANO PUNKO-PUNGKO

  24. Walter July 29, 2013 at 12:21 pm

    Hello Ley,

    About the lake: how do you know about swan boats? I’m from near Boston.

    Walter

Leave a comment, bai!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,455 other followers

